Proceedings of Leyton Public Schools Board of Education Cheyenne County School District #17-0003 High School Library Regular Board Meeting - February 12, 2025 4:00 PM

Call to Order:

The Regular Board Meeting of the Leyton Public School District Board of Education was called to order on February 12, 2025, at 4:00 PM, in the Library of Leyton High School in Dalton, NE. The Open Meetings Act was posted on the wall of the Library. Publicized notice of the meeting was posted in the Sidney Sun-Telegraph, Leyton High School, Leyton Elementary/JH, at various businesses in the community, and on the school website (www.leytonwarriors.org) on or before Thursday, February 6, 2025.

Attendance taken at 4:00 PM.

Benish: Present
Borges: Present
Ernest: Present
Rushman: Present
Schumacher: Present
Wiedeman: Present

Also present were Mr. McLaughlin, Mr. Jones, Mrs. Haley, and three visitors.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Wiedeman to approve the agenda. Roll Call vote: Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea. Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

The STUCO report was presented.

Mr. Wiedeman gave his NASB Legislative Conference report.

Mr. Jones and Mr. McLaughlin gave their administrative reports.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Ernest to recognize Zaili Benish for scoring 2000 points in her basketball career; Lindsey Kessler for her work on the Kindergarten report card; Scarlett Newitt, Wade Ascherl, Sarah Dunn, Raymus Phillip, Ainsley Mertz-Cleveland, and Paige Frerichs for making the Cheyenne County Spelling Bee; Riley Benish for making the "A" Honor Roll; Merecedes Heidemann and Macey Roelle for making the "A-B" Honor Roll; the Girls' Basketball Team for placing 2nd at the MAC Tournament; the Boys' Basketball Team for placing 3rd at the MAC Tournament; FFA State Qualifying Food Science Team: Lila McLaughlin (blue ribbon), Macey Roelle (blue ribbon), Shawnee Gamble (white ribbon), and Auvi Cranmore; Faith Lee and Kynnady Hajek for their wrestling season; STUCO for the food pantry volunteer hours they have worked; and to the following students who were named to the NCPA Academic All-State for the Fall season: Football- Alec Watchorn, Riley Benish, Volleyball- Zaili Benish

and Ella Haley, Play Production: Shawnee Gamble and Lila McLaughlin. Roll Call vote: Wiedeman: Yea; Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea. Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Ernest to approve the minutes from the January 13, 2025, Regular Meeting. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Schumacher to approve the claims, warrants and transfers. Roll Call vote: Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea. Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Policies were reviewed and items were taken from the review for legal guidance.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Borges to approve the transfer of \$100,000 to the School Nutrition Fund. Roll Call vote: Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea. Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Borges to enter into an Executive Session to discuss the salary of the Principal at 4:46 PM. Roll Call vote: Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea. Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Rushman to return to Regular Session at 5:02 PM. Roll Call vote: Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea. Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0. No action was taken during the Executive Session.

Moved by Wiedeman, seconded by Ernest to approve the Principal's contract. Roll Call vote: Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea. Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Borges, seconded by Ernest, to accept the resignation of Sydney Nein as First-Grade Teacher with regret. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

The next Regular Board Meeting will be Monday, March 10, 2025, at 6:00 PM in the High School Library.

ADJOURN

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Wiedeman to adjourn the meeting at 5:20 PM. Roll Call vote: Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea, Benish: Yea. Motion Carried: Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Approved by,

Respectfully Submitted,

Suzy Ernest, Secretary Leyton Board of Education Matt McLaughlin, Recording Secretary