Proceedings of Leyton Public Schools Board of Education Cheyenne County School District #17-0003 Regular Board Meeting - January 13, 2025 - 4:00 PM High School Library

Call to Order:

The Regular Board Meeting of the Leyton Public School District Board of Education was called to order on January 13, 2025, at 4:00 PM, in the Library of Leyton High School, Dalton, NE 69131. The Open Meetings Act was posted on the wall of the library. Publicized notice of the meeting was posted in the Sidney Sun-Telegraph, Leyton High School, Leyton Elementary/JH, at various businesses in the community, and on the school website (www.leytonwarriors.org) on or before Thursday, January 9, 2025.

Attendance was taken at 4:00 PM:

Benish: Present Borges: Present Ernest: Present Rushman: Present Schumacher: Present Wiedeman: Present

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and there was no communication from the public.

Reorganization of the Board of Education for Leyton Public Schools:

Committee appointments were made for the following committees:

Budget & Negotiations: Benish, Ernest, Wiedeman

Building & Grounds: Benish, Schumacher

Curriculum & American Civics: Borges, Ernest, Wiedeman

Safety: Borges, Rushman

Security/Crisis: Borges, Schumacher School Improvement: Wiedeman Transportation: Borges, Schumacher

Technology: Borges Wellness: Benish, Ernest

Moved by Wiedeman, seconded by Ernest, for Ryan Borges to be the President of the Board of Education. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Borges, seconded by Benish, for Sam Schumacher as the Vice President of the Board of Education. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Wiedeman, for Shad Benish as the Treasurer of the Board of Education. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Borges, seconded by Schumacher, for Suzy Ernest as the Secretary of the Board of Education. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Benish to approve the agenda. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Reports:

Mrs. Haley presented the STUCO report for the month.

Suzy Ernest presented from the NASB State Conference sessions she attended in November.

Mr. Jones and Mr. McLaughlin presented their administrative reports to the board.

Regular Agenda:

Moved by Benish, seconded by Wiedeman to recognize the following: There were 17 students in 9-12 named to the honor roll for the first semester. The "A" Honor Roll students were Aubri Borges, Auvi Cranmore, Isabella Fischer, Madalynn Stout, Zaili Benish, Shawnee Gamble, Ella Haley, and Riley Jones. Students on the "A-B" Honor Roll were Isaac Barday, Colt Van Anne, Max Wiggins, Riley Benish, Brody Turman, Marlee Wiggins, Alec Watchorn, Sydney Fortune and Kaydence Haupt. There were 36 students named to the Honor Roll in grades 5-8. The "A" Honor Roll students were Kasen Miller, Regan Moore, Raymus Phillip, Brooks Frerichs, Madilynn Mitchell, Adyleigh Rushman, Ainsley Mertz-Cleveland, Cooper Benish, Paige Frerichs, Hadlee Guggenmos, Kinley McDaniel, Henry McLaughlin, Connor Rieken, and Kennedy Roelle. The "A-B" Honor Roll students were Wade Ascherl, Victor Lopez, Grayson McDaniel, Levi Roelle, Esme Bunner, Breckyr Cranmore, Hunter LePage, Michael Mata, Conner Blanke, Josiah Bleck, Skylar Draper, Sarah Dunn, Joel Hajek, Alice Lopez, Cainyn Rushman, Lucas Eddy, Alexys Feather, Chase Moore, Slader Newitt, Jaylyn Noel, Dillon Schmidt and Celicya Townsend. Also recognized were the Villages of Gurley and Dalton for the Christmas candy bags, Santa Claus for visiting our school, students in NHS for the Food Drive and Giving Tree, and Zaili Benish for signing at Doane University to play basketball. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Wiedeman, seconded by Rushman to approve the minutes of the December 11, 2024, meeting. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Borges to approve the claims, warrants, and transfers. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Wiedeman to approve the appointment of Matt McLaughlin as the designated official of the Board of Education with authority to apply for Elementary and Secondary Education Act Grants, and to testify before legislative committees, and be the District Nondiscrimination Compliance Coordinator. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Ernest to approve the Mission and Vision Statements for Leyton Public Schools. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Wiedeman, to approve Simmons Olson Law Firm as the legal counsel for the District. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Benish, to approve Mr. Jones as the Title IX Coordinator and Compliance Coordinator. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Borges, to approve Points West Community Bank as the depository bank for the District. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Schumacher to approve Rauner and Associates as the auditor for the District. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Borges, seconded by Ernest to approve the hire of Julie Bellendir as a Special Education Teacher. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Rushman to accept the Annual Report as presented. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Borges to approve Sarah Dykman and Kayla Wells as board members for the Leyton Public Schools Foundation. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Informational Items:

The next Regular Meeting of the Leyton Board of Education will be held on Wednesday, February 12, 2025, at 4:00 PM in the High School Library.

Adjournment:

Moved by Benish, seconded by Borges to adjourn the meeting at 5:19 PM. Roll Call vote: Benish: Yea, Borges: Yea, Ernest: Yea, Rushman: Yea, Schumacher: Yea, Wiedeman: Yea. Motion Carried Yea: 6, Nay: 0.

Approved by,

Respectfully Submitted,

Suzy Ernest, Secretary Leyton Board of Education

Matt McLaughlin, Recording Secretary