Leyton Public Schools Board of Education Monday, May 13, 2024 High School Library 504 Main Street Dalton, NE 69131-0297

Call to Order:

Vice President Sam Schumacher called the Meeting to order at 7:02 a.m. The public was informed of the Open Meetings Act posted on the wall of the library. Publicized notice of the meeting was posted in the Sidney Sun-Telegraph, Leyton High School, Leyton Elementary/JH, at various businesses in the community, and on the www.leytonwarriors.org website on or before Thursday, May 9, 2024.

Present Board Members:

Benish: Present
Borges: Absent
Ernest: Present
Rushman: Present
Schumacher: Present
Wiedeman: Present

Also present were Superintendent Matt McLaughlin, Principal Charles Jones, and seven visitors.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and there was no communication.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Ernest to approve the agenda. Roll Call vote:

Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea. Yea: 5, Nay: 0 Motion Carried

Amanda Walker presented to the Board about plans to begin a trap club locally.

Four students came and requested a school vehicle to help them get to the airport for the school trip to DC and New York.

Mr. Jones gave the k-12 principal report, and Mr. McLaughlin gave the Superintendent report.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Benish to excuse member Ryan Borges. Roll Call vote: Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea. Yea: 5, Nay: 0 Motion Carried

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Schumacher to recognize students participating in Best of the West Track for Junior High Auvi Cranmore, Aubri Borges and Colt Van Anne. High School were Zaili Benish, Shawnee Gamble, Clarie Watchorn, Macey Roelle and Riley Jones. Julie Gamble for her work coaching the District Champion Girls track team. Matthew Schwaderer and Lila McLaughlin for being selected to Boys and Girls State. NHS inductees: Matthew Schwaderer, Mercedes Heidemann, Macey Roelle, Alec Watchorn and Riley Jones, State Track Qualifiers Kaleb Borges, Zaili Benish, Shawnee Gamble, Macey Roelle, Claire Watchorn and Riley Jones. Roll Call vote: Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea. Yea: 5, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Benish to approve Minutes of the Regular Board Meeting from April 15, 2024 and the Special Meeting from April 16,2024 and the special meeting April 29, 2024.. Roll Call vote: Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea. Yea: 5, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Schumacher to approve Claims, Warrants and transfers. Roll Call vote: Shad Benish: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea. Yea: 5, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

There was a presentation made to update the school board on the cost associated with upgrading the ventilation system in the shop.

Moved by Benish, seconded by Rushman to allocate special building funds to purchase playground equipment minus the installation fee from Creative Sites LLC. Roll Call vote: Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea. Yea: 5, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Ernest to set the lunch prices for high school to \$3.10, middle school for \$3.00 and elementary \$2.75 for the 2024-2025 school year. Roll Call vote: Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea. Yea: 5, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Welding Shop motion failed for lack of a motion.

Moved by Wiedeman, seconded by Rushman to move to accept the annual Rule 10 safety audit. Roll Call vote: Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea. Yea: 5, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Ernest to motion to approve the time off for Mr. McLaughlin May 23-May 31. Roll Call vote: Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea. Yea: 5, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Wiedeman to approve a 1 percent pay increase beyond the 20 years for Classified staff members who reach the end of the current schedule. Roll Call vote: Shad Benish: Yea, Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea. Yea: 5, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

Next Regular Meeting; June 12, 2024 at 7:00 AM in the High School Library

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Benish to adjourn meeting at 9:05 AM. Roll Call vote: Suzy Ernest: Yea, Rol Rushman: Yea, Samuel Schumacher: Yea, Dave Wiedeman: Yea, Shad Benish: Yea. Yea: 5, Nay: 0 Motion Carried.

APPROVED BY, Respectfully submitted,

Suzy Ernest, Secretary Matt McLaughlin,
Leyton Board of Education Recording Secretary