Proceedings of the
Leyton Public Schools
Cheyenne County School District #03
Board of Education Meeting
September 12, 2022 – 7:00 p.m.
High School Multi-Purpose Room in Dalton, NE

### CALL TO ORDER:

President Ryan Borges called the regular school board meeting to order at 7:01 p.m. The public was informed of the Open Meetings Act posted on the wall of the multi-purpose room. Publicized notice of the meeting was posted in the Sidney Sun-Telegraph, Leyton High School, Leyton Elementary/JH, at various businesses in the community, and on the <a href="https://www.leytonwarriors.org">www.leytonwarriors.org</a> website on or before Wednesday, September 7, 2022.

Members present: Ryan Borges, Lisa Carter, Suzy Ernest, Sam Schumacher, and Dave Wiedeman. Members absent: Rol Rushman. Also present were Superintendent Matt McLaughlin, High School Principal Kevin Thomas and ten visitors.

Communication was read from the family of John Borges. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Schumacher to approve the agenda as presented. Roll call vote: Yes: Schumacher, Wiedeman, Borges, Carter, and Ernest. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

# Presentations/Public Comments:

STUCO President, Cort Rummel, presented his report to the Board. He recognized the new officers: Claire Watchorn (Vice President), Dawson Juelfs (Secretary), Trenton Rushman (Treasurer), and Sydney Fortune (Historian). STUCO representatives are: Cort Rummel, Dawson Juelfs (Seniors), Claire Watchorn, Trenton Rushman (Juniors), Ella Haley, Sydney Fortune (Sophomores), Hayden Guggenmos, Carlyn Thomas (Freshmen), and Axi Benish, Kaitlyn Craig (Members at Large). STUCO has held several meetings, adopted an official Student Council Constitution, and organized homecoming events and class competitions.

Matt Gillespie, Dalton Volunteer Fire Department Chief, asked the Board to consider an agreement in which the school would provide transportation for our local firemen, to and from, a long distance call. Funding is available from FEMA and NEMA to reimburse the school for the driver, mileage, and fuel expenses. The Board asked Mr. Gillespie to provide more details for consideration at the next board meeting.

There were no public comments.

## **REPORTS:**

Mr. Borges presented the minutes from the Transportation Committee meeting which focused on bus maintenance issues.

Mr. Thomas presented the Secondary Principal's Report.

Mr. McLaughlin presented the Superintendent's report. In addition, he recognized the following individuals: Alison Haley for her work at organizing the "Warrior Zone" as part of this year's school spirit club; Megan Rathman for her work as our curriculum coordinator; Jacob Noel, Mark Carley, Ryan Fortune, and Cody Gamble for their hard work in getting our facilities and grounds ready and conducting successful fall sports events; and the Junior High Student Council election winners: President-Austin Beutler, Vice-President-Max Wiggins, Secretary-Riley Benish, Treasurer-Aubri Borges, 8<sup>th</sup> Grade Respresentatives-Marlee Wiggins & Brody Turman, and 7<sup>th</sup> Grade Representatives-Jayla Serrato & Auvi Cranmore.

### **REGULAR AGENDA:**

Moved by Borges, seconded by Wiedeman to excuse Rol Rushman from tonight's meeting. Roll call vote: Yes: Borges, Carter, Ernest, Schumacher and Wiedeman. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Ernest to approve the minutes of the regular Board Meeting on August 8, 2022, the Budget Workshop on August 11, 2022, the Budget Workshop on August 24, 2022, and the

Budget Hearing on September 1, 2022. Roll call vote: Yes: Wiedeman, Borges, Carter, Ernest, and Schumacher. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Moved by Carter, seconded by Schumacher to approve the claims, warrants, and transfers from all funds as presented. Roll call vote: Yes: Borges, Carter, Ernest, Schumacher, and Wiedeman. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Moved by Wiedeman, seconded by Ernest to approve the purchase of a 2021 Ford Van from Nebraska/Central Equipment using ESSER III funds in the amount of \$74,500.00. Roll call vote: Yes: Carter, Ernest, Schumacher, Wiedeman, and Borges. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

No action was taken on amending the 2022-2023 Extra Duty Schedule. The Board directed Mr. McLaughlin to contact legal counsel on how to proceed.

Motion by Borges, seconded by Ernest to approve of the technology recycling as discussed. Roll call votes: Yes: Ernest, Schumacher, Wiedeman, Borges, and Carter. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

### **INFORMATIONAL ITEMS:**

- 1. Cheyenne County Joint Public Hearing (Sidney): September 26, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.
- 2. Special Meeting: September 27, 2022 at 3:00 p.m.
- 3. Next Regular Meeting: October 10, 2022 at 7:00 p.m.

#### ADJOURNMENT:

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Schumacher to adjourn the meeting at 7:33 p.m. Roll call vote: Yes: Schumacher, Wiedeman, Borges, Carter and Ernest. No: None. Motion carried 5-0.

Approved by, Respectfully submitted,

Lisa Carter, Secretary Leyton Board of Education Janella Kruse,
Recording Secretary