Proceedings of the Leyton Public Schools Cheyenne County School District #03 Board of Education Meeting June 13, 2022 – 7:00 p.m. High School Multi-Purpose Room in Dalton, NE

CALL TO ORDER:

President Ryan Borges called the regular school board meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. The public was informed of the Open Meetings Act posted on the wall of the multi-purpose room. Publicized notice of the meeting was posted in the Sidney Sun-Telegraph, Leyton High School, Leyton Elementary/JH, at various businesses in the community, and on the <u>www.leytonwarriors.org</u> website on or before Wednesday, June 8, 2022.

Members present: Ryan Borges, Lisa Carter, Suzy Ernest, Rol Rushman, Sam Schumacher, and Dave Wiedeman. Members absent: None. Also present were eight visitors.

Communications were read from Claire Eckhardt. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Wiedeman to approve the agenda as presented. Roll call vote: Yes: Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, Borges, and Carter. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

REPORTS:

Ms. Carter presented the Budget Report from their May 26th meeting. They reviewed the budget timeline and the proposed Classified Salary Schedule. The salary schedule is an action item on the agenda, but is open for discussion.

Mr. Rushman presented the Building/Grounds Report from their May 26th meeting. Items of concern included a foundation crack in the north gym wall and security in the entrance to the Elementary/JH building. The committee also reviewed balances in the building and depreciation funds.

The Superintendent's Report was presented to the Board.

REGULAR AGENDA:

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Ernest to recognize the Boys' Track team as District 9 Champions; the Girls' Track team as District 9 Runner-Ups; to the Class of 2022 on their May 14th Graduation; to Cortney Holt and Ethan Eckhardt (Co-Valedictorians); to Jonathan Borges (Salutatorian); to the State Track Participants: Axi Benish (3200 Meter Run, 1600 Meter Run, 4x400 Meter Relay), Zaili Benish (100 Meter Hurdles, 300 Meter Hurdles, 4x100 Meter Relay, 4x400 Meter Relay), Trinity Beutler (4x100 Meter Relay, 4x400 Meter Relay), Shawnee Gamble (400 Meter Dash, 200 Meter Dash, 4x100 Meter Relay, 4x400 Meter Relay), Claire Watchorn (4x100 Meter Relay), Ella Haley (Relay alternate), Ashton VanAnne (Relay alternate), Logan Bartling (Discus), Jonathan Borges (Shot Put), KJ Bush (4x100 Meter Relay, 4x400 Meter Relay), Chance Carter (4x800 Meter Relay, 4x400 Meter Relay), Justin Ernest (800 Meter Run, 4x800 Meter Relay, 4x100 Meter Relay, 4x400 Meter Relay), Dawson Juelfs (Pole Vault), Mason Reimers (Long Jump, 4x100 Meter Relay), Cort Rummel (Pole Vault, 4x800 Meter Relay, 4x400 Meter Relay), Matthew Shepard (4x100 Meter Relay), Gabe Tretter (3200 Meter Run, 1600 Meter Run, 4x800 Meter Relay), and Isaiah Suarez (Relay Alternate); to the State Track Medalists: Axi Benish (6th in the 3200 Meter Run and 7th in the 1600 Meter Run) and Shawnee Gamble (5th in the 400 Meter Dash); to Axi Benish for setting a new school record in the 3200 Meter Run (12:42:71); to Jason Jensen for placing 10th at District Golf and qualifying for State Golf; Alec Watchorn, 8th grader, for participating in the State JH Track Meet (200 Hurdles) on May 14th; to Macey Roelle, 8th grader, for receiving the Warrior Way Character Award; to Dillon Schmidt, 5th grader, for receiving the Perfect Attendance Award; to Jill Bartling for 28 years of service; to Chris Morgan for coaching in the Panhandle Prep All-Star Boys' Basketball game on May 27th; and to the West Nebraska All-Star Participants on June 11th: Scout Gamble (Football) and Cortney Holt (Volleyball). Roll call vote: Yes: Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, Borges, Carter, and Ernest. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Carter to approve the minutes of the regular Board Meeting on May 9, 2022. Roll call vote: Yes: Schumacher, Wiedeman, Borges, Carter, Ernest, and Rushman. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Schumacher to approve bills and financial reports from all funds as presented. Roll call vote: Yes: Wiedeman, Borges, Carter, Ernest, Rushman, and Schumacher. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

The Board reviewed Policies #4041-#4061. No action was necessary.

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Ernest to approve policy #4025 (Superintendent) as presented. Roll call vote: Yes: Borges, Carter, Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, and Wiedeman. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Ernest, seconded by Borges to approve the Panhandle New Beginnings Day Treatment School Interlocal Agreement as presented. Yes: Carter, Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, and Borges. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Borges, seconded by Rushman to hire and approve an Interim Contract for Kevin Thomas, High School Principal, as presented. Roll call vote: Yes: Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, Borges, and Carter. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Ernest, seconded by Borges to hire and approve the contracts for Lindsey Kessler (Elementary Teacher) and Theresa Barnhart (JH Teacher) as presented. Roll call vote: Yes: Rushman, Wiedeman, Borges, Carter, and Ernest. No: Schumacher. Motion carried 5-1.

Motion by Schumacher, seconded by Ernest to appoint Superintendent Matt McLaughlin, Principal Kevin Thomas, and Activities Director Cody Gamble as signors on the District's financial accounts and issue credit cards on the school account to three employees. Roll call vote: Yes: Schumacher, Wiedeman, Borges, Carter, Ernest, and Rushman. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Rushman, seconded by Ernest to approve the Classified Staff Salary Schedule as presented, including a "hold harmless" clause to ensure that any staff member who would be negatively affected by the proposed schedule would maintain their current hourly rate. Roll call vote: Yes: Wiedeman, Borges, Carter, Ernest, Rushman, and Schumacher. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

No action was necessary on the approval of technology purchases.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS:

1. Next Regular Meeting:

July 11, 2022 at 7:00 a.m.

ADJOURNMENT:

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Wiedeman to adjourn the meeting at 7:37 p.m. Roll call vote: Yes: Borges, Carter, Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, and Wiedeman. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Approved by,

Respectfully submitted,

Lisa Carter, Secretary Leyton Board of Education Janella Kruse, Recording Secretary