Proceedings of the
Leyton Public Schools
Cheyenne County School District #03
Board of Education Meeting
April 11, 2022 – 7:00 p.m.
High School Multi-Purpose Room in Dalton, NE

### CALL TO ORDER:

President Ryan Borges called the regular school board meeting to order at 7:01 p.m. The public was informed of the Open Meetings Act posted on the wall of the multi-purpose room. Publicized notice of the meeting was posted in the Sidney Sun-Telegraph, Leyton High School, Leyton Elementary/JH, at various businesses in the community, and on the <a href="https://www.leytonwarriors.org">www.leytonwarriors.org</a> website on or before Wednesday, April 6, 2022.

Members present: Ryan Borges, Lisa Carter, Suzy Ernest, Rol Rushman, Sam Schumacher, and Dave Wiedeman. Members absent: None. Also present were Superintendent Chris Geary and Elementary/JH Principal Dana Morgan. In addition, there were ten visitors.

There were no communications. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Moved by Wiedeman, seconded by Ernest to approve the agenda as presented. Roll call vote: Yes: Borges, Carter, Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, and Wiedeman. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

#### **REPORTS:**

Mr. Schumacher presented the Security/Crisis Committee report and thanked Mrs. Hansen for taking the minutes. The committee discussed the Mitigation Plan, school drills, and security/safety concerns.

Mr. Wiedeman presented the School Improvement report. The Cognia team visited last week and interviewed staff, parents, Board members, students, and administration. They observed classroom instruction and reviewed documentation. They will submit their report within 10 days and the District should have a final report in 4-6 weeks.

Mr. Borges discussed the 2022-2023 Staffing Plan. He has talked with Mr. McLaughlin, Ms. Primm and Mrs. Morgan and they feel they have come up with the best plan for next year.  $1^{st}/2^{nd}$  grades will be combined as will  $4^{th}/5^{th}$  grades. Mrs. Morgan will meet with her staff tomorrow and will report if there are any concerns with the plan.

Ms. Primm presented her report on Work-Based Learning and Career Education clusters. The Health Care cluster will be presented as an option next year and then other areas, such as business and welding, will be added. Our District will work with WNCC in getting college credits in those areas.

Mrs. Morgan presented the Elementary/JH Principal's report.

Mr. Plummer's Secondary Principal's report was available to the Board.

Mr. Geary presented the Superintendent's Report.

### **REGULAR AGENDA:**

Moved by Schumacher, seconded by Rushman to recognize Amy Thacker, Megan Rathman, and Dana Morgan for all their work with the Cognia Review; to the March Good Citizens (Kindergarten-Gabe Fischer, 1<sup>st</sup>-Sophia Luna, 2<sup>nd</sup>-Regan Moore, 3<sup>rd</sup>-Adyleigh Rushman, 4<sup>th</sup>-Skylar Draper, 5<sup>th</sup>-Payten Beardsley, 6<sup>th</sup>-Lucy Tretter, 7<sup>th</sup>-Claire Eckhardt, and 8<sup>th</sup>-Macey Roelle); to the Duck Stamp Contest winners (Hadlee Guggenmos-2<sup>nd</sup> place; Slader Newitt-Honorable Mention); to the 7<sup>th</sup> and 8<sup>th</sup> grade quiz bowl teams for each earning 2<sup>nd</sup> place at Kimball; to Nora Jenson, Skylar Draper, Zayden Slaughter, and Cainyn Rushman for having their comments in Nspire; to Mrs. Murray and the 3<sup>rd</sup> grade class for a great job on pop bottle projects; Gabe Tretter, Alex Jeppson, Claire Watchorn, and Axi Benish for passing their Certified Nursing Assistant State Test; to Cortney Holt for placing 6<sup>th</sup> at the State Speech Meet in Informative Speaking; to Cortney Holt, Katy Jones, Ethan Eckhardt, Jason Jensen, Brenton Abbott and Dawson Juelfs for being awarded Academic All State in their respective activities; to Mr. Oakes and the High School Band for receiving 1<sup>st</sup> place-Concert Band, top overall

instrumental school, and many other individual awards at MAC Music; to Mr. Oakes for being inducted into Phi Beta Mu, a National Bandmasters Honor Fraternity; to KJ Bush and Logan Bartling for placing in the top 8 of All-Conference Individual Quiz Bowl; to Les Cruise, Wayne McRoberts, and Mike Pelster for their efforts in creating new Dalton Track Record Boards; to Suzy Ernest for volunteering in the kitchen at the high school; and to Chris Lind for all of her help in serving meals to our students. Roll call vote: Yes: Carter, Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, and Borges. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Moved by Rushman, seconded by Ernest to approve the minutes of the regular Board Meeting on March 14, 2022 and the Special Board Meetings on March 15, 2022 and March 21, 2022. Roll call vote: Yes: Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, Borges, and Carter. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Carter to approve bills and financial reports from all funds as presented. Roll call vote: Yes: Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, Borges, Carter, and Ernest. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Moved by Borges, seconded by Carter to approve a resignation, with regret, from Ryan Coffey, JH Teacher. Roll call vote: Yes: Schumacher, Wiedeman, Borges, Carter, Ernest, and Rushman. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

The Board reviewed Policies #4000-#4020. No action was necessary.

Motion by Rushman, seconded by Wiedeman to approve the Contract for Services by First National Capital Markets for one year. Yes: Wiedeman, Borges, Ernest, Rushman, and Schumacher. No: Carter. Motion carried 5-1.

Motion by Borges, seconded by Ernest to approve the South Platte Hazard Mitigation Resolution 2022-04-11 as presented and authorize the Board President and Board Secretary to sign the Resolution. Roll call vote: Yes: Borges, Carter, Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, and Wiedeman. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Schumacher, seconded by Ernest to dispose of a John Deere Snow blower, 3 point blade, Walker floor jack, 2-5 bulb stadium lights, 272 John Deere 3 point grooming mower, 2-Goodyear G661 HAS 11R22.5 tires, 1967 Champion Electric Air Compressor, Ram Co 5000 Engine Hoist, Air Compressor, 36 Florescent light fixtures, 9-Wallmount bathroom sinks, 8' Wooden ladder, 10' Wooden ladder, and 2 TV Carts by any means necessary to obtain the best return of taxpayer funds. Roll call vote: Yes: Carter, Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, and Borges. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Motion by Carter, seconded by Schumacher to approve an overnight stay for state science fair on April 20, 2022. Roll call vote: Yes: Ernest, Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, Borges, and Carter. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

## **INFORMATIONAL ITEMS:**

1. Next Regular Meeting: May 9, 2022 at 7:00 p.m.

# ADJOURNMENT:

Moved by Ernest, seconded by Wiedeman to adjourn the meeting at 7:55 p.m. Roll call vote: Yes: Rushman, Schumacher, Wiedeman, Borges, Carter, and Ernest. No: None. Motion carried 6-0.

Approved by, Respectfully submitted,

Lisa Carter, Secretary Leyton Board of Education Janella Kruse, Recording Secretary